Go Back   MustangForums.com > Ford Mustang Tech > General Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


General Tech Ask model specific questions in the appropriate category below. All other general questions within.
Sponsored by NewTakeOff


Welcome to Mustang Forums!
Welcome to Mustang Forums.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Button Under Dash?

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-02-2012, 08:23 PM   #1
chemoman
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 42
Default Button Under Dash?

2007 Pony.
I've had this car for 5 years now and just noticed a button under the dash beside the OBD II connector. I can't tell that it does anything. Any ideas?

http://i225.photobucket.com/albums/d...4-21150524.jpg
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Mustang Forums!

Last edited by chemoman; 05-02-2012 at 08:58 PM.
chemoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 11:05 AM   #2
GreyStang
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location:
Posts: 3,062
Default

Any wires going to it? Did you buy the car new?
__________________


2002 GT convertible
1999 Yamaha 1100 Virago
GreyStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 01:00 PM   #3
Shampue
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Vehicle: 2007 Mustang GT convertible
Location: Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Posts: 705
austin.schroeger aschroeger shampue
Default

This one? lol

Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
Austin S.
2007 Roushcharged GT Convertible

Shampue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 07:44 PM   #4
chemoman
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreyStang View Post
Any wires going to it? Did you buy the car new?
There are two wires. I cant remember what color. Yes, I bought it new and has no mods.
chemoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 05:54 PM   #5
ttocs
6th Gear Member
 
ttocs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 6,936
Default

looks like some kind of alarm programming button. Stick your head up by the pedals and look up into the dash or follow the wires from that button and see if there is a mess of wiring going to an alarm box. You might be able to just buy the remotes and have a fully functioning alarm or you might have a huge head ache to take out.
__________________
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2395420
ttocs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 10:02 AM   #6
157dB
Cut & Paste Expert
 
157dB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Vehicle: 2007 Pony Package
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 13,322
Default

From the looks of the pic I see scotch lock Insulation Displacement Connectors.
(The blue items in the bottom of the pic on the wiring harness)
His hell has already began...
(Factory dont use scotch locks)...

Click the image to open in full size.
New or not, that 2007 mustang has had someone attaching
wires and screwing switches to the dash...


BTW, is there any chance there is a Nitrous Bottle
in the trunk you have just now noticed?
An Uncle playing a trick on you and installing mods
without your knowledge in the dead of the night?
Transbrake for burnouts? Line lock?
__________________
NON PUMKIN JACKER
http://www.mustangforums.com/forum/5...-this-car.html
Quote:
Originally Posted by chronos View Post
You and that darn manual! If you like it so much, maybe you should marry it!

Last edited by 157dB; 05-05-2012 at 10:08 AM.
157dB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 09:47 PM   #7
chemoman
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 42
Default

I do see what you all are saying. The scotch locks...
I bought this car new with 16 miles on it! It was in a frond end wreck recently and spent 4 weeks in the shop. That has been the only time it has spent a night out of my garage.
I will take it to the dealer next week and get to the bottom of this!
Thanks
chemoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 10:24 PM   #8
chemoman
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 42
Default

I do see what you all are saying. The scotch locks...
I bought this car new with 16 miles on it! It was in a frond end wreck recently and spent 4 weeks in the shop. That has been the only time it has spent a night out of my garage.
I will take it to the dealer next week and get to the bottom of this!
Thanks
chemoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 10:31 AM   #9
ttocs
6th Gear Member
 
ttocs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 6,936
Default

16 miles yea someone put something under there. I see some butt connectors not sure about the scotch locks but all the wire ties as well show something was added. Look up behind that panel and see what you can find or else its in the kick panel.
__________________
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2395420
ttocs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 05:22 PM   #10
chemoman
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 42
Default

Traced the wires to this. But now the damn thing is in the driveway and won't turn over. All electronics work fine but no fire to the starter. I reset the fuel pump and it is coming on with each turn of the key.
This car has 45K mi on it and was like new until the freakin wreck, now.....
Click the image to open in full size.
chemoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 10:56 AM   #11
157dB
Cut & Paste Expert
 
157dB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Vehicle: 2007 Pony Package
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 13,322
Default

Seems this the starter interrupt someone has installed has taken over....
__________________
NON PUMKIN JACKER
http://www.mustangforums.com/forum/5...-this-car.html
Quote:
Originally Posted by chronos View Post
You and that darn manual! If you like it so much, maybe you should marry it!
157dB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 01:04 PM   #12
ttocs
6th Gear Member
 
ttocs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 6,936
Default

as he said it looks like the starter kill that was installed has now turned on, or the wiring to it has become disconnected. Often on a starter kill there is an offboard relay that the starter kill controls. Look up around the ignition wiring or again in the kick panel for the relay and check the wiring going to it.

Or call the dealership as it could be a good pia to hunt down what has happened.
__________________
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2395420
ttocs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 03:10 PM   #13
rooky_07
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Vehicle: '95 Mustang GT
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12
Mike Rush
Default

I have a button on my 95 in a similar location. It is for the starter kill relay for the factory alarm system. If it won't crank, turn the key on, hit the button and try again. Could well be a dealer installed alarm.
rooky_07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 06:18 PM   #14
chemoman
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rooky_07 View Post
I have a button on my 95 in a similar location. It is for the starter kill relay for the factory alarm system. If it won't crank, turn the key on, hit the button and try again. Could well be a dealer installed alarm.
I tried that. pressed with the key on, key off, key out...
As far as the dealer installed alarm:
The dealer told me today that it could be a "lot alarm" installed. An alarm that the dealer installs for their security and if the buyer doesn't want it they pull the module. I was never told anything about it. Plus, I have never noticed it until now. I guess it could be possible that I have overlooked it all these years. My wife has been the primary driver until last month and she took it to detail shops for cleaning.
Any thoughts on this "lot alarm" idea?
chemoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 02:19 AM   #15
ttocs
6th Gear Member
 
ttocs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 6,936
Default

factory alarms do not use add-on modules like that that screw into the panel, this was definitly an add-on aftermarket alarm.

Having installed audio/security for 10+ yrs I can tell you that lot alarms are the worst thing you can imagine. They contract out to the lowest bidder normally, that uses the cheapest products and then wants to spend as little time as possible in each car. I know people that could literally be in/out in 10 mins but they would not do it to their own car and you would not want it done to yours. Good news is that they are easy to pull out. Follow each wire from that alarm hrns till it ends and cut it and insulate all the bare copper. It sounds like alot but would probably take a diy'er 45 mins.
__________________
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2395420
ttocs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 01:03 PM   #16
chemoman
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 42
Default

I just had the shop tech remove it while he was in there screwing me......I mean fixing the other problem. At least now I don't have to worry about it.
Thanks for everyone's.
chemoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 11:06 AM   #17
157dB
Cut & Paste Expert
 
157dB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Vehicle: 2007 Pony Package
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 13,322
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ttocs View Post
factory alarms do not use add-on modules like that that screw into the panel, this was definitly an add-on aftermarket alarm.

Having installed audio/security for 10+ yrs I can tell you that lot alarms are the worst thing you can imagine. They contract out to the lowest bidder normally, that uses the cheapest products and then wants to spend as little time as possible in each car. I know people that could literally be in/out in 10 mins but they would not do it to their own car and you would not want it done to yours. Good news is that they are easy to pull out. Follow each wire from that alarm hrns till it ends and cut it and insulate all the bare copper. It sounds like alot but would probably take a diy'er 45 mins.
+1
Also I have been installing car alarms for 30 years as well.
Git rid of that scotch locked nightmare that wont start.
__________________
NON PUMKIN JACKER
http://www.mustangforums.com/forum/5...-this-car.html
Quote:
Originally Posted by chronos View Post
You and that darn manual! If you like it so much, maybe you should marry it!
157dB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 11:06 AM
MustangForums
Ford Mustang




Paid Advertisement

 
 
 
Reply

Tags
1994, 2001, 86, 98, box, buttons, dash, dashboard, ford, fordmustang, gt, mustang, sensor, stupidcams, white, wiring

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
New Sponsors
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 AM.

© Internet Brands, Inc.


This forum is owned and operated by Internet Brands, Inc., a Delaware corporation. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Ford Motor Company and is not affiliated with the Ford Motor Company or its related companies in any way. Ford® is a registered trademark of the Ford Motor Company
Emails Backup