Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

New Exhaust?

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2006, 12:38 PM
Arrow
2nd Gear Member

Default New Exhaust?

Hey guys, how difficult is it to install a new exhaust setup? I've never done such a thing before, and would like to know what's involved before I start contemplating said mod. (resource links welcome)
Old 11-06-2006, 12:44 PM
swensicle
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: New Exhaust?

Assuming you're talking about Axlebacks?...then it's very easy. Any slightest bit of mechanical knowledge will get it done in under an hour.

Old 11-06-2006, 12:48 PM
RedGTyl
1st Gear Member

well most exhaust systems for 05-07 GT's are bolt on. So you actually can do it yourself. or you could pay 40 bucks to have an exhaust shop to do it for you. Do alot of research before you buy. Good luck and have fun.
Old 11-06-2006, 01:49 PM
slow07
2nd Gear Member

I am pretty sure my girlfriend could do it without assist. It has been a while, but I believe there are four bolts (attaching the hangers to the car) on each muffler and then the exhaust clamp. Two of the bolts are difficult to find. They are vertical, directly above the muffler. Ratcheting wrenches will be your best friend.
Old 11-06-2006, 03:27 PM
Arrow
2nd Gear Member

Any flash required?
Old 11-06-2006, 05:00 PM
Arrow
2nd Gear Member

Better question...What's the benifits of adding a new exhaust? I'm not so concerned about the sound, so much as performance. If the bulk of the benifit is more growl, I'll probably still put it on my list of stuff to do, but near the bottom.
Old 11-06-2006, 05:15 PM
slow07
2nd Gear Member

No flash required. I did not notice power gains. If you are just looking for power, this is not the way to go, but they sound really good.
Old 11-07-2006, 12:22 PM
Arrow
2nd Gear Member