Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Decisions - Decisions....'05 GT vert or Used C5??

Old 04-22-2005, 10:59 AM
adg

Default Decisions - Decisions....'05 GT vert or Used C5??

[IMG][font="Verdana"]Hi there...newbie here.....

Looking for some thoughts from all you Mustang afficianados out there.

I am currently shopping for my next car and am torn between two options; a new 05 GT Convertible (5sp) or a used C5 Corvette (probably coupe) for about the same money. My local dealer will accept X-plan pricing, so the GT Vert is a very good deal.

I am a bit torn....The Mustang is very cool, new/warranty, back seat, convertible. The Corvette is a more sophisticated, more expensive car (C5 stickers were about $48K). The Vette would not be new, only 2 seats and for the money I would probably find a coupe with low miles.

I don't require a back seat, will have three cars, but it would be nice to take the whole family on rides in the vert. This will be a daily driver in the Chicago area. I have access to another car for the heavy snow days.

Looking forward to lots of input!!
[/IMG]
Old 04-22-2005, 11:38 AM
Professor Wizard
MF Moderator

Default RE: Decisions - Decisions....'05 GT vert or Used C5??

Well.... Before I offend any happy Vette owners... let me start with "I had a bad experience with a Vette", so this is MY opinion and not necessarily fact for all Vettes!

I had an Artic White 94 with Red interior and every option they could install.

It spent nearly as much time in the shop as it did on the road, and whenever I took it to the shop there were always several Vettes being worked on, and this was NOT a super large dealership, and no, they weren’t being detailed for a customer..

Every time I raced it hard, something blew, fell off or broke.
The brakes were the crappiest I had ever seen on a car.