Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Buying a supercharger for my GT....

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2005, 04:41 AM
nickbrace
2nd Gear Member

Default Buying a supercharger for my GT....

Hey all,

I am gonna buy a supercharger for my 05 GT in the next week and I wanted opinions.....you have to understand that I am NOT technical and only got into cars to this extreme in the past year or so...

I understand from my own research that its Vortech, Paxton and Protech which are the main 3. I am goin to use this not as a race car but an everyday driver which will go fast as hell when I want it to, with this in mind which one would you guys go for?? The most important factor for me is reliability and longevity and following this I guess the price of product........HP is a secondary 'need' as I am sure you will tell me they all have a huge amount of HP!!!

I live in England and so I am very nervous about reliability as if something goes wrong it is far more expensive to fix.

What is the life of these things....same as engine or 30,000 miles, etc???

Last question - seems like some of them come with aftercoolers and some not - about a £1k difference in price - is an aftercooler essential to keep the heat down?

don - would be interested to think what you think so far as I know you are looking into getting one?

Nick
Old 06-10-2005, 10:45 AM
gianf
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: Buying a supercharger for my GT....

The Saleen super charger produces quite a bit of power at a low boost rate (4 to 5 lbs.) Unless I'm mistaken, it is designed to give you what you are seeking and do it everyday, without doing damage to the machine it's boosting. It's the one I will do when I get to that point.

Steve
Old 06-10-2005, 11:19 AM
stang9325
2nd Gear Member

not to be a dick but try the search feature...this topic has been beaten repeatedly
Old 06-10-2005, 12:55 PM