Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

intake and tunes

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2009, 09:23 PM
falcompsx

Default intake and tunes

Hey all, I'm a Ford noob here and i'm looking to start doing minor things to my car to make a bit more power and improve the sound. I've installed an intake / catback exhaust on almost every car i've owned so far and never had a problem, but i'm looking at the fordracingparts catalog and their intake says a tune is required to run properly.

Is this true? I've never had to flash an ECU when installing an intake on my past cars so this strikes me as odd. I also don't have any reason to believe Ford would say this if its not true. Any insights?

Also, i'm wondering if i can get reccomendations between the ford intake, and the K&N(as well as what tuner i would need for this to work without damaging anything).

As far as exhaust, so far i'm leaning toward magnaflow and was wondering anyone had any experience with their 3" catback system(positive or negative). Also, ford has a package with the intake, tuner and axelback exhaust for ~900 retail, but i'm not sure its a very good deal, as the exhaust is stated as just being the stock unit from the GT500, and it just seems like a lot of money for a pair of mufflers, intake and tuner. I could spend similar money on a magnaflow, k&n, and a different tuner with similar results and have the parts i'd probably rather have.

Any advice is appreciated, thanks!
Old 09-28-2009, 10:41 PM
Nuke
6th Gear Member

There are a lot of cat and axlebacks available for our Stangs and anything beyond the H-pipe does NOT require a tune. FYI, the stock exhasut flows well enough that any of the axlebacks and catbacks provide NO performance gains, just sound. With that in mind, a catback is a waste over an axleback.