Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

My lastest problem. And SPEC clutch/slave cylinder questions.

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2010, 08:21 AM
Blacksmoke
The Paranoid One

Exclamation My lastest problem. And SPEC clutch/slave cylinder questions.

For those who have been keeping up with my latest problem...
Took it into the shop this morning for the honking sound I am getting from 1st gear take offs and from second gear downshift at 30mph or up.

They have not looked at it yet but the guy I know at the front desk gave a guess of the slave cylinder.
Well, again for those that have followed my adventures this summer.... I had my tranny replaced and a new clutch and flywheel put in.

I am no mechanic but I thought the slave cylinder was PART of the tranny so I figured if I got a new one I would have a new slave cylinder.
Am I right or wrong?

Another question.
Are they going to have to take the tranny apart to get to the slave cylinder? I guess if it was part of it they would..

I have a warranty on the new tranny. They told me if any work had to be done on it... including taking it apart that THEY would cover even labor costs.

The clutch and flywheel are from SPEC. SPEC2+ to be exact.
I don't have a warranty from ford on the clutch of course but they DID do the install. I went on the net and heard many things that could cause the clutch to make this sound... from the slave cylinder to grease on the input shaft.. to a bad clutch plate or bad disk

As of right now I am just waiting. And hoping.
I am pretty much bleed out of money.

I put 250 bucs towards a new short shifter before this problem came up but I have no where near what it would cost for them to do major work like I had this summer.
I waiting and worrying as of now.
Old 09-07-2010, 10:34 AM
Blacksmoke
The Paranoid One

I talked to SPEC on the phone to.