Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Ford's recent quality/reliability

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2011, 08:59 AM
scrmnws6

Default Ford's recent quality/reliability

Hey guys,

Yes, I'm a noob, yes I'm coming from all GM vehicles. Looking at placing an order for a 2012 5.0 in the next couple of weeks and registered here to read read read and ask questions until I'm blue in the face.

We've all heard nightmares about every single manufacturer, so I'm not here saying Ford is worse/better than manufacturere X.

I would just like to know what Ford's build quality is as of recent on their new lineup of Mustangs, the fit/finish, and how the vehicle will age in the next 5 years in terms of becoming a huge rattle box or not.

I was in the market for a used M5, drove a few with 80k miles on them and I could not tell the difference from a 20k mile example, same thing with Infiniti/Audi etc.

I don't want to compare Ford to BMW/MB/Audi, but rather Ford of today to Ford of yesterday.

How are the 2005/06/07 Mustangs holding up? Still solid?

Thanks.
Old 02-09-2011, 09:07 AM
DreamerGT
5th Gear Member

Originally Posted by scrmnws6
How are the 2005/06/07 Mustangs holding up? Still solid?

Thanks.
Both of my fords are older then that and they are still going strong.
Old 02-09-2011, 09:44 AM
Cal26Stang
5th Gear Member

I have a 2007 GT, I went and test drove a 2012 5.0....I was shocked by how fast it was and how much ford's quality has increased. The interior was by far the biggest shocker for me. When I look at a camaro's interior I can't understand why anyone would pick it over a mustang
Old 02-09-2011, 09:45 AM
scrmnws6

Originally Posted by DreamerGT
Both of my fords are older then that and they are still going strong.
More concerned about long term longevity of quality of parts.