Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Performance mods

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2012, 08:15 AM
night7519
1st Gear Member

Default Performance mods

Hello folks. I have a 2005 Roush Sport and am thinking it's time to do some performance improvements. I currently have an Airraid CAI and 93 race tune from Bama.

At this point a supercharger is out of the question so I'm looking for advice for the best mods for the money. I have a set of FRPP Hot Rod cams and the FRPP intake manifold sitting in boxes not yet installed. I am 100% interested in installing the cams but not 100% sold on the intake. I have recently been considering the purchase of a set of long tube headers as well.

I'm a newbie when it comes to performance mods so any advice you folks could provide with regard to the best bang for the buck would be greatly appreciated. This is my daily driver as well so keep that in mind with your recommendations.

I look forward to your input. Thanks very much!
Old 02-21-2012, 09:21 AM
HxCGuitars
3rd Gear Member

Well the manifold would delete your CMCV, so that would help, but I've heard the intake helps mostly in upper end and you lose a bit down low. So depends where you want your power.

Then again, cams do the same thing, but I like the sound Since you're 100% on the cams, I'd sell the manifold and buy some longtubes with the money. Cams + longtubes = so much better than on their own.
Old 02-21-2012, 10:04 PM
night7519
1st Gear Member

Thanks for the input. I appreciate it. Surprise there haven't been more comments/opinions on this.
Old 02-22-2012, 07:02 AM
outceltj
5th Gear Member