Broken window motor? - MustangForums.com


Go Back   MustangForums.com > Ford Mustang Tech > 2005 - 2014 Mustangs > GT S197 General Discussion
Search


GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Broken window motor?

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-13-2014, 03:25 PM   #1
Kagnus
 
Kagnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Vehicle: 2007 Ford Mustang GT
Location: Texas
Posts: 14
Default Broken window motor?

2007 GT 65K

My drivers side window motor will no longer move the window up or down and seems locked in the automatic inch-down position they do when the door is opened. Passenger side works fine. When I toggle the drivers side switch I can hear the motor click but it doesn't move the window and I don't hear the motor spinning. I'm going to open up the door and visually inspect everything and if I can't find anything obviously wrong I will swap it with the passenger side motor and see if it is the motor that is bad(assuming the plugs are the same).

Any suggestion is appreciated!!
Kagnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 05:27 PM   #2
Kagnus
 
Kagnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Vehicle: 2007 Ford Mustang GT
Location: Texas
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kagnus View Post
2007 GT 65K

I will swap it with the passenger side motor and see if it is the motor that is bad(assuming the plugs are the same).

Any suggestion is appreciated!!
Yeah that's not going to happen.
Kagnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 05:29 PM   #3
AzPete
4th Gear Member
 
AzPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Vehicle: 08 GT Vert, 02 GT Vert
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 1,214
Default

Pull the motor and see if it works. Either replace it of track down other problem if the motor works.
__________________
AzPete
Retired USAF
Panama City, Fl.
I wake up in the morning with nothing to do and by supper time, I have half of it done.

2008 GT Vert, stock
2000 Lightning, s/c, tuned, Basanni, built tranny
Previous Mustangs:4 - '66 Coupes(silver/blue/grey/red) '87 GT HO, '00/'02/'07 GT Vert(red)(grey)(black), '68 Coupe, '11 GT/CS
AzPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 06:13 PM   #4
Kagnus
 
Kagnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Vehicle: 2007 Ford Mustang GT
Location: Texas
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AzPete View Post
Pull the motor and see if it works. Either replace it of track down other problem if the motor works.
How do i test it? I tried the switch and there is absolutely no response from the motor. I can only figure I would pull the motor and plug it into the passenger side plug... UGH
Kagnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 08:04 PM   #5
Kagnus
 
Kagnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Vehicle: 2007 Ford Mustang GT
Location: Texas
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kagnus View Post
How do i test it? I tried the switch and there is absolutely no response from the motor. I can only figure I would pull the motor and plug it into the passenger side plug... UGH
Tested the motor! It works! So now the issue lies with the switch/relay. I check fuse #44 and it is fine, so where else could the issue lie? Could it be in the small junction box inside the car?...
Kagnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 05:31 PM   #6
Kagnus
 
Kagnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Vehicle: 2007 Ford Mustang GT
Location: Texas
Posts: 14
Default

Come on someone has to have an answer! I replaced teh smart junction box and had it programmed. Nothing changed, I am trying to sell the car and I would like to have it at 100% when I do. The motor works, the switch has power, but there doesn't seem to be power going to the motor and I tested the switch for continuity and it seems to have contact in all positions. Where else can I look for a loss of power? Please help!
Kagnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 06:44 PM   #7
bl817
2nd Gear Member
 
bl817's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Vehicle: 2005 Ford Mustang GT
Location: Ft. Worth Tx
Posts: 219
Default

its possible the wires in the door loom, between body and door have separated.
bl817 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 06:53 PM   #8
JimC
Moderator
 
JimC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Vehicle: 2013 MCA convertible
Location: Michigan
Posts: 5,863
Default

So if you tested the motor and it works, confirmed that there is power at the switch, then it has to be somewhere between the motor and where the switch gets power, correct?
__________________

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2015, 12:03 AM   #9
Kagnus
 
Kagnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Vehicle: 2007 Ford Mustang GT
Location: Texas
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimC View Post
So if you tested the motor and it works, confirmed that there is power at the switch, then it has to be somewhere between the motor and where the switch gets power, correct?
I believe the power comes from the smart junction box. I am pretty sure the windows are controlled by a circuit board in the SBJ receiving power from the main fuse box. I am 99% sure the SBJ is supplying power to the switch. It may be a loose connector somewhere... I will have to look at the loom like bl817 said.

It must be a loose connector, I have checked the relays and the SBJ is new.

Ok. I'll dig some more.
Kagnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2015, 05:30 PM   #10
Kagnus
 
Kagnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Vehicle: 2007 Ford Mustang GT
Location: Texas
Posts: 14
Default Problem solved?

I think I have this solved. This appears to be a ground issue.

Continuity between switch and motor: Good
Between SBJ and motor: Good
Between switch and SBJ: Good
Ground between motor and switch: None
Other grounds and power wires: 12+volts

Now correct me if I am wrong, but the 1205 BK (black) ground wire leading from the master RF switch to the RF motor should show continuity, and since it does not the switch cannot complete a circuit, thus the motor is receiving no current to tell it what to do. Voltage between the ground wire and power wire on both the window motor and the switch produce 12+ volts, so can we assume their individual connection to the G204 ground is good but the connection between the two is bad. This 1205 BK wire does not run through the SBJ so I am operating under the presumption that is a relatively short wire as the G204 ground connection lies under the pillar in the LH foot well. This connection should be a simple wire-eyelet bolted to the frame/firewall correct?

If this IS correct where is S215 junction so I can check the connections. I don't see any literature in the wiring diagrams addressing this. If no one knows I can probably track the wires back to this splitter. Thank you for reading.


Click the image to open in full size.
Kagnus is offline   Reply With Quote

 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

 
Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
New Sponsors
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 AM.>


This forum is owned and operated by Internet Brands, Inc., a Delaware corporation. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Ford Motor Company and is not affiliated with the Ford Motor Company or its related companies in any way. FordŽ is a registered trademark of the Ford Motor Company