Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Hell! Hail!

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2014, 03:04 PM
algregory
3rd Gear Member

Default Hell! Hail!

Heading back from Beaufort NC had the misfortune to meet hail. I'm not a hail expert, the only hail I think I ever saw was green pea size, this stuff was similar to a golf ball, but not round and spherical.

I bailed on the road, into someone's driveway, under a tree, which the body shop said may have been beneficial.

The roof escaped injury. There may be a very small dent in the trunk's lid. However the hood has quite a few indentations that are not extremely noticeable, but, at the right angle they can be seen.

My question is that the body shop fellow says he's seen small hail dents go away when the hot sun heated up the metal body panels. He's not really sure on the fiberglass Mustang hood one way or the other. He mentioned having seen miracles done by those guys that don't do "body work" but massage the dents out. But, not sue about fiberglass hoods.

Anyone have personal experience on our fiberglass hoods and hail?

TIA
Old 07-29-2014, 03:15 PM
ghunt
3rd Gear Member

Fiberglass? Are you talking about an aftermarket hood?

Factory is aluminum.

About 2-3 months after I got my car, we had a hailstorm with the worst hail I've ever seen in this area, came out of nowhere and I had to stand on the porch and watch the nickel and quarter sized hail bounce off my car.

Crazy thing is, I checked the car all over and there was no damage on it anywhere, not even on the hood. I must have dodged a bullet on that one.
Old 07-29-2014, 07:34 PM
algregory
3rd Gear Member

Originally Posted by ghunt
Fiberglass? Are you talking about an aftermarket hood?

Factory is aluminum.