Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

2010 Mustang Hood Corrosion!

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2014, 03:15 AM
kzonts
5th Gear Member

I have a 2010 and I noticed a few spots starting to appear. :-(

Hopefully it won't get much worse before I sell it next summer.
Old 04-24-2015, 10:28 PM
Steve St.Laurent
1st Gear Member

I was horrified recently to discover a 1"x2" rust bubble on the hood of my '13. My car is parked in a garage almost 24/7 when I'm not driving it. I park in underground heated parking at work and it's garaged at home. I have a subscription to a car wash and it's washed regularly with an underbody wash as well. Took it to the dealer two weeks ago and they told me that they've been seeing this problem across much of Ford's product line and that they haven't had trouble getting it covered. They also showed me where it's corroding all over the place under the hood where I hadn't seen it yet. They told me that it's because the underside of the hood is steel and the upper is aluminum. Their fix is to sandblast, then seal the seams and repaint the hood.