Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Safest way to jack up s197 onto 4 Jackstands??

Old 07-29-2015, 11:37 AM
SmokeGhostGT

Default Safest way to jack up s197 onto 4 Jackstands??

What's up guys,

Im new to the DIY car mods world and Im trying to Lift my 07 GT onto 4 Jackstands. My first project was installing a HURST short throw shifter, for which I lifted the front by the "K member"(one wheel at a time) per the manual and used the factory intended jackpoints to place my jackstands. The project I want to knock out today is a repaint of my wheels, getting the car onto 4 jackstands would streamline this, but my question is what is the best way to do this safely?

Concerns

1. The manual is very clear about avoiding the rear diff for lifting. In other threads on the topic I've read, there was a pretty good number of people who say they've been lifting cars by the "Pumpkin" for 30+ years w/o problems. On the other hand there were also people screaming blasphamy and that you should never do it for various, scientific sounding reasons, but the debate didn't spawn very many clear answers to my original question.

2. I've thought about lifting the back 1 wheel at a time like I did the front, but if the front is on stands already it seems like the car would be very unstable, and if the wheels are on the ground with the back on stands im not sure the jack would fit under the front fender (car is stock height).

Thanks in advance for the help!
Old 07-29-2015, 02:07 PM
bl817
3rd Gear Member