Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

If you could start over with a stock S197??

Old 09-26-2016, 01:06 PM
MrSimon

Default If you could start over with a stock S197??

I'm brand new to the Mustang scene and have read TONS of info on wheels, cams, exhaust, tunes, intakes, superchargers, coilovers, control arms etc etc etc. The list of mods is ENDLESS.

Before jumping in, I wanted to get advice from guys who have "been there done that".

I plan to use my new-to-me 06 GT convertible as a cruiser. It's not a daily driver and it's not a track car. I want it to look, drive, and sound good ... but it doesn't need to be a monster.

My budget for mods is around $5k and I'd like to spread that out over a year or two. What would you guys suggest?
Old 09-26-2016, 05:54 PM
mustlemn
1st Gear Member

That's already must be a great car. Frankly speaking, I would use that 5K budget to go places with that car and enjoy life with good friends.
Old 09-26-2016, 06:43 PM
danzcool
5th Gear Member

Since you're not looking for a monster, and you don't really have enough to go forced induction, I'd say upgrade the exhaust and suspension and maybe get a tuner and call it good. As far as suspension budget say $2K for springs/dampers/sway bars (call Sam Strano [stranoparts.com] and he'll set you up with something that can handle very nicely). As far as the exhaust, that's up to personal taste, but I'm partial to Borla, even though I no longer have it set up that way.
Old 09-27-2016, 07:10 AM
Dino Dino Bambino
4th Gear Member

Originally Posted by MrSimon
Before jumping in, I wanted to get advice from guys who have "been there done that".
I've been there, done that, and I'm still doing it.
My car is mostly a weekend cruiser but I also drive it to work once or twice a week. Annual mileage is 6-7k.
Old 09-27-2016, 07:29 AM
Norm Peterson
6th Gear Member