Mach 1 Section This section is for discussions relating to the reincarnation of the Mach 1 trimline.

Random engine cutoff & idle surge- HELP

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2010, 07:59 PM
canyoncarver93

Default Random engine cutoff & idle surge- HELP

Hey guys, I'm a newbie to the forum so this is my first post. I've got an '04 Mach 1 with a 5-speed, 4.30 gear, Bassani X-pipe (with cats), Bassani after cat, and a K&N Filter in the factory box, and a Speed-cal box for obvious reasons...haha. Now to the hard part. My problem is that occasionally when I push in the clutch the engine will die, the other times it will idle at 400 rpm, and occasionally surge to 1500 to 2000 rpm until I blip the throttle and then it will slowly idle down. It seems to do it more on hotter days when I'm running the AC but it's not always. It also seems like the hotter it is the more it does it. I have checked and cleaned the MAF and the Idle air controller, both looked clean. I have also looked for frayed wires but have yet to come across anything, nor have I found any vacuum leaks. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!
Adam
Old 08-06-2010, 10:13 PM
rygi23
4th Gear Member

Stock tune? If you have a tuner...any changes in settings? One possibility is that the idle is low and the racing idle is the computer trying to compensate. Using aftermarket intakes w/o retaining the MAF screen causes similar symptoms. Your's is still in, right?
Old 08-06-2010, 11:07 PM
Mach1man
2nd Gear Member

Has the fuel filter been changed? If not, you may want to do that before you go chasing things too much further.
Old 08-07-2010, 05:02 AM
canyoncarver93

It's got the stock tune still (unfortunately). I replaced the fuel filter last year to no avail.
Old 08-07-2010, 08:42 PM
Fstanggt96
3rd Gear Member

Is it throwing codes? Mine did a similar thing about 4 months ago, I went back to factory tune and it hasnt done it since. I also got way better gas milage after that lol.
Old 08-08-2010, 07:13 AM