Mustang News, Concepts, Rumors & Discussion Did you see that Mustang?! Have you heard Ford's next move? Come inside.

Insurance Advice.

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2007, 02:39 PM
poohflingr
2nd Gear Member

Default Insurance Advice.

I am an insurance agent and I noticed there are some other insurance agents and adjusters on the forum. In case this hasn't been done, we should really help out those fellow stangers that have insurance questions. I know the young guys have questions, but the olders guys and gals may need advice too. You'd be amazed at the misconceptions and myths people have about insurance!
Old 09-09-2007, 03:12 PM
2GKT5
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: Insurance Advice.

This thread has great potential to help many, but you should post it in a section that gets a lot more traffic (possibly off-topic). You'll see a lot more responses there.
Old 09-30-2007, 08:20 AM
mustangrich
1st Gear Member

I have a question. I called my insurance provider and found out that to go from a V6 to a GT in the same year model range for me would only be a difference of about $190 a year. That's a lot less than it was when I was younger (I'm now 27 with a clean driving record). Out of curiosity I asked how much to insure myself in a BMW 330ci. To my surprise, it was less than the amount I currently pay to insure myself in my Mustang.

I stepped from an '82 Prelude to a V6 Mustang and my insurance practically doubled, and the difference between the V6 and the GT isn't nearly as great. A BMW 330 will out run and out drive a stock base Mustang. When I asked about the difference, she told me that rates were determined mostly by accident statistics; implying (though I didn't ask to clarify) that people who drive Mustangs, regardless of what's under the hood, get into more accidents than people who drive BMW 3 series. She also noted that Mustangs tend to get raced and there are higher numbers of accidents related to that. Is this accurate based on your experience?