New Member Area Are you new to Mustang Forums? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

Mustang shopping... cannot decide what to get

Old 06-08-2008, 08:03 PM
StangIt

Default Mustang shopping... cannot decide what to get

I am shopping new and late model used Mustangs, and just cannot decide what to get as far as engine/trim level. Specifically, I am weighing a V6 vs a V8 (and also a 'vert vs a fixed roof coupe).

Why I like the v8... it's a V8 and this car was made for it. I have driven an 07 V8 stick, and must admit it put a grin on my face.

To get a better idea on whether I would want to live with the car as a daily driver, I ended up renting a V6 coupe and took it on a 1300 mile roadtrip a couple weeks back. My trip really encompassed all kinds of driving. Highway distance driving which it was great at, and city driving around Philly and Washington DC, which it also did very well at. Although it didn't have the jump of the V8, I cannot accuse it of lacking in power either. It had very good pickup and passing power. I was really, very satisfied with it. Also, I was surprised how well it handled, as it had the base level 16 inch wheels and high sidewall tires on it. The car held on surprisingly well. Also, the car felt very well balanced in turns.

Which brings me to my dilema. Although I think of a Mustang as having a V8, I think I would be just as happy with the V6. Especially since the purchase price, insurance and fuel bills should be a bit cheaper. (I cannot believe I averaged 26 MPG on my trip, including over 28 on highway stints!). I would also be driving this car in the winter, thru all but the worst storms (would use snow tires). I would imagine the V6, with a bit less torque, would be somewhat easier to drive in those conditions. I do have a Geo Tracker I can use if things are going to be really bad, with lots of ice or accumulation in the forecast, but I wouldn't drive that all the time.