New Member Area Are you new to Mustang Forums? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

MYSTERIOUS MISFIRE!

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2014, 10:56 PM
beccapaigexoxo

Angry MYSTERIOUS MISFIRE!

A little history..
I drive a 2001 Ford Mustang 3.8L V6. I have been driving this car for the last 7 years and have had no problems up until 7 months ago. Yes, I have been driving my car with a misfire in 1 and 3 for 7 months.

When leaving a friends house one morning, 7 months ago now, after my car had sat at week in some of the coldest and rainiest of weather here in NC, my car was literally shaking when I would accelerate. I thought my car was going to blow up. The engine light was flashing. I pulled off at the nearest gas station, poured in some fuel treatment, let the car sit and idle for a bit and drove it home. It stumbled, stuttered, and I really did not think I would make it home. When I made it home I let the car sit in the driveway for nearly 30 minutes while the cleaner had a chance to cycle through. Eventually, it seemed as though the rough idle worked itself out and even driving it days after the treatment it had gotten almost 100% better...so I figured why not run more treatments through and see if this problem clears itself up.

Well, here I am today, car is still running like crap. When I run the air it seems to bog the engine down. Going up hills or any type of acceleration right around 35 mph seems to strain my engine. It sometimes backfires. The engine light will still come on at times and flash, but always goes off 30 seconds later. It's time to put an end to it and get it fixed.