New Member Area Are you new to Mustang Forums? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

1965 smell like gas inside

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2016, 01:03 PM
sand235

Default 1965 smell like gas inside

I just bought a 1965 Mustang with a Cobra engine 347 CI, the car is all restored, lots of new parts, new engine, runs really well etc.. After 5 min driving it I smell like gasoline, fumes...I took it to a good mechanic that I trust and he could not find any leaks under on the fuel lines or gas tank. Could it be the carburetor that is not burning the fuel properly? I have e feeling the gas its not going thru the exhaust in the right way.
I really appreciate any sugestions or opinions about it. also sorry about, I am new to muscle cars and trying to learn more how to take care this fun Mustang
Old 04-09-2016, 01:05 PM
sand235

]I just bought a 1965 Mustang with a Cobra engine 347 CI, the car is all restored, lots of new parts, new engine, runs really well etc.. After 5 min driving it I smell like gasoline, fumes...I took it to a good mechanic that I trust and he could not find any leaks under on the fuel lines or gas tank. Could it be the carburetor that is not burning the fuel properly? I have e feeling the gas its not going thru the exhaust in the right way.
I really appreciate any sugestions or opinions about it. I am new to muscle cars and trying to learn more how to take care this fun Mustang
Old 04-10-2016, 09:44 AM
proeagles
4th Gear Member

Your engine could be running really rich which your trusty mechanic should have spotted if he ran the engine.
Old 04-10-2016, 09:51 AM
jakebrake

to fill the passenger compartment?

that would be running beyond rich, if at all. that sounds more like a leak.
Old 04-10-2016, 11:43 AM
sand235

Default 1965 smells like gas inside