Oil and Oil Related Topics A place to post your oil related questions and comments

What type of Oil does everyone use?

Search this Thread

Old 11-17-2011, 06:05 PM
minimac

Default What type of Oil does everyone use?

It has become that time again to change the oil, as i finally got my '88 on the road , what type of oil does everyone run? What do you suggest? And what about synthetic, should i run it from now on?
Old 12-10-2011, 06:44 PM
wydopnthrtl
2nd Gear Member

Everyone has a opinion on that one!

I've been rebuilding my own engines for many years. I've been using mobil 1 5w-30 or 10w-30 and never see the lifters coked. Never seen any sludge in the low places either.

(Been using 5w-30 M1 in my 89 and have no problems)
Old 12-10-2011, 11:57 PM
Syracuse315
2nd Gear Member

My vote is M1 5w-30 synthetic as well.
Old 12-15-2011, 10:12 PM
Unleashedbeast
4th Gear Member

If you want highly refined petroleum in your engine lubricant, by all means....use Mobil 1, Castrol, or Pennzoil.

If you want a true synthetic that doesn't cheap out by using refined petroleum, yet still calling it a synthetic, use Amsoil Signature Series or Red Line.

I have a lot of interesting information about how the big oil companies are cheating people. If anyone wants more details, simply ask.
Old 03-14-2012, 01:49 AM
b_manne

That real synthetic amsoil seems pretty legit.

I think I will run the 0w30, I like the sound of a 15,000 interval change.
Old 03-14-2012, 07:43 AM
BlackGT45th
2nd Gear Member

Originally Posted by Unleashedbeast
If you want highly refined petroleum in your engine lubricant, by all means....use Mobil 1, Castrol, or Pennzoil.

If you want a true synthetic that doesn't cheap out by using refined petroleum, yet still calling it a synthetic, use Amsoil Signature Series or Red Line.

I have a lot of interesting information about how the big oil companies are cheating people. If anyone wants more details, simply ask.
^ This.
Old 03-15-2012, 06:34 AM
JRC702
1st Gear Member