Other Professional Racing NASCAR, Formula 1, Sprint, Rally & Off Road, SCCA Auto X, Le Mans, Pro Stock, Cart, Drag, IROC, etc.

New Guy..hopefully not old questions...

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2008, 10:03 PM
devongarver
5th Gear Member

Question New Guy..hopefully not old questions...

OK, so i am still a newcomer to mustangs, havent even had mine a year yet. I have been a fan for what feels like forever though. I am looking for any and all input here...
Im wanting to learn as much as i can about road coarse racing, because i would like to participate in it. I have a passion for "spirited" driving to say the least, and i feel the only safe outlet for that may be a road coarse. The issue is this, with my current career path, i am NEVER home on any sort of regular schedule. I am a traveling service engineer. I am not happy with the company i work for, but with this economy...well...my options are pretty limited. Im not even sure what im asking here, i would just like to know how much time, money, training, etc it really takes to run races. As much of a long shot as it is, i actually wanted to race for a living, but i just dont know enough or if that is even feasable without sponsors from the get-go. Sorry if im coming off as an idiot here, im just kind of lost and looking for options.
Old 12-27-2008, 12:54 PM
spicysushi

Hi. I'm a newbie to the forums as well, but have done a little racing. Firstly, congratulations on catching the bug! I have some questions for you, have you joined your regional or local SCCA or NASA? They offer excellent opportunities to get involved in Motorsports! I would also recommend checking out a school, i am partial to:

http://www.bondurant.com/

Best of luck to you in your racing adventures, It can be done on a budget!
Old 01-18-2009, 11:02 AM
1.5LofFury
4th Gear Member