Pipes, Boost & Juice Talk about Exhaust, Nitrous, Blowers, Turbos, Superchargers... whatever makes you go faster!

I want to make my car street legal

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2005, 06:47 PM
murfeezlaw

Default I want to make my car street legal

Hi all, I'm a newbie here and I have a ? about my 95 Mustang GT. I put the off road H Pipe on. I have to get my car inspected & i'm sure it won't pass inspection w/o the cats. Will I feel a big decline in power if I put pipes with Cats back on? Also what options do I have to make it legal? (better pipes that will make it legal but won't reduce too much power?) 2 mechanics have me a little nervous about getting caught. they said the increase in power isn't worth the risk. the only problem is I don't have my old pipes with the cats so i'd have to but new ones unless i put someone else's on to pass inspection and put the H Pipe back on.

any help would be very much appreciated. i CANNOT wait to take her out...it's a convertible and the weather is getting nice.
Thanks!
Ted
Old 06-07-2005, 07:41 PM
David_K
5th Gear Member

Default RE: I want to make my car street legal

easy take it to get inspected. if it passes it passes and you just saved yourself all this worry if it doesnt then your out $15. all you need to do is have a muffla' shop weld in some cats. the gas mileage is the biggest difference that you will feel. make sure that they put flanges on the cats so they can be removed/replaced using only a 12mm wrench
Old 06-07-2005, 07:47 PM
gt96stang
5th Gear Member

Or if you could find a stock h-pipe with the cats on it for cheap then keep it for all the times that you are going to be inspected and the just change it back out when you are done with the inspection. It's nice down here in FL where they do not have inspections. No worrying about it.
Old 06-07-2005, 10:17 PM
BicketyBam
5th Gear Member