Notices
S197 Handling Section For everything suspension related, inlcuding brakes, tires, and wheels.

First Track Day on Sunday

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2008, 11:18 PM
Texotic
5th Gear Member

Default First Track Day on Sunday

Hey guys, i'm doing my first event this weekend out at Texas World Speedway. i'm working a corner on saturday and then driving for free on sunday (i'm a broke college student, so i gotta do work/drives). i'm really excited, but i'm just wondering if there's anything i'm missing as far as prep work is concerned. i have relatively new oil, about half life on my pads, going to torque all my lug nuts to 90ftlbs, tires at 35psi, cleaned my windows, removed everything i could (floormats, loose stuff, spare, etc.).

anyways, i'm looking to have a great time and will be sure to report back after the event.
Old 11-07-2008, 06:45 AM
Argonaut
4th Gear Member

Go to 98-100 ft/lbs on the lugs. Stock pads and fluids would be a concern for me but others have done it...depends how hard you push and how hard the track is on brakes. What is the tire size? 35psi may be a little low on streets, just keep an eye on them.

With the stock seats and belt you will slide all over the place. One trick is to move the seat back a few inches from where you want it. Then pull the belt all the way out and let it go back in as far as you can get it. Then move the seat forward as far as you can, tightening the belt and locking yourself in. Another solution is to purchase a CGLock, you can google it, its a device that locks the lap belt in place.

Turn off traction control. My first time I actually stuck a sticky note to the button so that I would remember, and even then my instructor had to remind me about it, LOL.

Above all have fun. The first session will blow your mind. Riding with an instructor will give you a heart attack. By the end of the day you will be going faster than you ever thought possible.
Old 11-07-2008, 11:28 AM
Red06
2nd Gear Member

Hey Texotic,