Notices
S197 Handling Section For everything suspension related, inlcuding brakes, tires, and wheels.

Brake System Flush

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2008, 03:38 PM
Texotic
5th Gear Member

Default Brake System Flush

So, I picked up some ATE Super Blue earlier today and am hoping to put it in this weekend. Right now I'm planning on just bleeding my brakes like normal a few times, but replacing the discharged fluid with the ATE. It can mix with my current fluid, right? Does anyone have any better suggestions on how to do this?

Also, is there a specific pattern we are supposed to bleed? Last time I bled, I did RR, RL, FR, FL.

Any input is appreciated, I'm new to all of this brake work, but want to get proficient at it.
Old 12-03-2008, 06:27 PM
Sleeper_08
4th Gear Member

When we did mine we drained as much of the old fluid out of the reservoir as possible before adding the ATE Super Blue. Then kept bleeding the wheels one by one until the fluid came out blue.

Good luck.
Old 12-03-2008, 09:00 PM
Texotic
5th Gear Member

sounds good. did you try siphoning any out of the reservoir before you bled?
Old 12-03-2008, 09:37 PM
Sleeper_08
4th Gear Member

Originally Posted by Texotic
sounds good. did you try siphoning any out of the reservoir before you bled?
Yes - as much as we dared without risking getting air in the fluid.
Old 12-03-2008, 09:52 PM
Argonaut
4th Gear Member

Same here. With the speed bleeders its pretty easy. I used a turkey baster to get as much out of the MC as possible, then topped it up with super blue and pumped away. Your rotation is correct. This isn't the perfect way to do it but its good enough. You still will have old fluid in the abs and clutch.
Old 12-03-2008, 10:07 PM
Philostang
3rd Gear Member

I took mine to a local shop the first time I switched over to the new fluid. They had the right device to cycle the ABS and fully flush it of the old fluid. After that, I just do flushes the normal way.