Notices
S197 Handling Section For everything suspension related, inlcuding brakes, tires, and wheels.

Handling mods...how much do they work?

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2011, 03:58 PM
Radiater

Default Handling mods...how much do they work?

I am considering doing about a 1 grand worth of mods to my 11 GT Brembo.

Shocks/struts/springs/swaybar,etc as is typically recommended here and some other sites.

I admit I am a complete novice and I respectfully ask....do you guys have objective data or skid pad data showing these mods work and how much?
Old 10-12-2011, 10:13 AM
Sam Strano
Former Sponsor

How well it works depends on how good a setup you go with. Here's a little data for you... my '11 GT autocrosses are fast as a '10 Corvette Grand Sport (both on the same tires, both with tweaked alignments for autocross). Considering the C6 GS has a lot less weight, is smaller, has more power and a way better stock suspension, I think that's pretty telling.

BTW, those results are with me in both cars, having won multiple National events this year in both.

Skidpad numbers aren't truly that relevant in the real world. There are no dynamic transitions, and I can't find any place to just drive in 200' circles. And tires alone make a massive difference on a skidpad. Handling is a lot of things combined. How the car drives, how easy is it to drive, or nervous? What is the balance like? How does it work on bumps? Are the mods you are making useful for you everyday? How is the response? how well does the car take a set, etc. etc.
Old 10-12-2011, 10:40 AM
Radiater

Originally Posted by Sam Strano
How well it works depends on how good a setup you go with. Here's a little data for you... my '11 GT autocrosses are fast as a '10 Corvette Grand Sport (both on the same tires, both with tweaked alignments for autocross). Considering the C6 GS has a lot less weight, is smaller, has more power and a way better stock suspension, I think that's pretty telling.