Notices
S197 Handling Section For everything suspension related, inlcuding brakes, tires, and wheels.

VIR Track Day - April 10 & 11

Old 03-02-2012, 07:32 AM
Sleeper_08
4th Gear Member

Default VIR Track Day - April 10 & 11

I'm considering joining a group of drivers from Toronto, Ontario, Canada going to this event. I've been tracking my car now for 3 years and have about 25 events in total including at least 5 at Mosport which is also a high speed track.

http://www.davidmurry.com/event-list...ys-2012?xref=1

My preparation for the season will consist of;
1) thorough check of all suspension components
2) new Ford GT500 front and stock rear rotors, new Carbotech XP10 pads and new ATE Superblue brake fluid
3) Oil change

Just prior to this event I'll do a session at my local small track to shake the cobwebs out of myself and the car.

Instruction is included at VIR.

I'll probably need to block off some brake cooling.

The trans and diff fluids are Royal Purple put in before my first track day.

The engine and intercooler coolant were replaced last year.

I'll be running 275/35/18 Nitto NT01s, about 26" dia, with a 3.55 rear diff ratio. The engine rev limiter is set at 6,250 RPM.

Car mods are per my sig.

Any thoughts? It is a long way to go so I don't want to blow up.
Old 03-02-2012, 07:53 AM
Argonaut
4th Gear Member

I think your car will be fine. You going to drive all that way on the Nitto's or carry them along in the car? Bring your old rotors along just in case, the new ones will be fine but you never know.

You guys are picking a pricey event. I instantly thought how cool it would be to meet you there but thats a bit more than I'm will to pay.
Old 03-02-2012, 08:31 AM
Sleeper_08
4th Gear Member

Originally Posted by Argonaut
I think your car will be fine. You going to drive all that way on the Nitto's or carry them along in the car? Bring your old rotors along just in case, the new ones will be fine but you never know.