Notices
S197 Handling Section For everything suspension related, inlcuding brakes, tires, and wheels.

New autocross class with recent mods?

Old 04-17-2012, 12:25 PM
safetyfastgt
1st Gear Member

Default New autocross class with recent mods?

I've now modded myself out of FS. Mods are Steeda Sports, Koni str.t, Steeda HD strut mounts, adjustable panhard bar and GT500 wheels with 255/45-18 Nitto 555 tires. I think that puts me in either STU, SM or ESP. Any suggestion as to what would be the most fun to run in given the car as it sits?
Old 04-17-2012, 12:39 PM
bakerjd
5th Gear Member

ESP (I'm no expert though)...are those the only mods you've mad?
Old 04-17-2012, 12:41 PM
safetyfastgt
1st Gear Member

That's all the mods.
Old 04-17-2012, 12:54 PM
bakerjd
5th Gear Member

STU would be the lowest PAX but you'll race against a lot of WRX's and BMW's.

SM has a higher PAX time so I would say ESP (populated by mostly Stangs in my region).

Last edited by bakerjd; 04-17-2012 at 12:59 PM.
Old 04-17-2012, 01:18 PM
safetyfastgt
1st Gear Member

Okay. Thanks.
Old 04-17-2012, 08:04 PM
Whiskey11
2nd Gear Member

Originally Posted by bakerjd
STU would be the lowest PAX but you'll race against a lot of WRX's and BMW's.

SM has a higher PAX time so I would say ESP (populated by mostly Stangs in my region).
Mustangs 5.0L and below race in STX which limits you to a 9" wide wheel and 265 wide tires. Mustangs with engines larger than 5.0L race in STU with open wheel options and 285 max width tires. There is no crossover anymore for any cars. You are in STX if you are in any 05+ Mustang EXCEPT the GT500.

I believe the GT500 wheels are 18x9.5 right? ESP you go! The mods would be fine in STX except the wheel width. Is anyone going to care at the local level? Probably not unless you start beating some of the national level guys. Then they may get butt hurt over that extra half inch of wheel width.
Old 04-17-2012, 08:58 PM
darksky1984
2nd Gear Member