Notices
S197 Handling Section For everything suspension related, inlcuding brakes, tires, and wheels.

Adding rear sway to a base v6

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2012, 01:00 AM
Seraphim118
1st Gear Member

Originally Posted by Norm Peterson
If you're talking about the rear bar, there are too many other differences between the Whiteline bar and the rest to be able to use diameter alone as your basis for comparison. Arm length is also quite important (it's how adjustable bars get their adjustment).

Norm
Gotcha, I'm new to suspension mods so thanks for helping out! I'm looking to improve handling alot while keeping it reasonably daily driver friendly... Based off of the fact that i have no rear sway, i was leaning toward a kit that had everything with it. So, that is why I brought up the whiteline vs eibach. They both have everything I need. That being said, the whiteline is adjustable and the eibach does not seem to be..or atleast it does not say that it is.. Since the whiteline is adjustable Im thinking I will go with a front+rear whiteline setup. That way I will have the imput on how soft or firm my setup is. Does this sound like a reasonable route?
Old 09-03-2012, 08:36 AM
Norm Peterson
6th Gear Member

Originally Posted by Seraphim118
Since the whiteline is adjustable Im thinking I will go with a front+rear whiteline setup. That way I will have the imput on how soft or firm my setup is. Does this sound like a reasonable route?
Perhaps more important than "soft or firm" taken by itself is how soft or firm you set the rear bar relative to the front. That affects the understeer/oversteer balance. I wouldn't, for example, set the front bar full soft and the rear bar full firm, as that'll likely get the tail a little too "loose" for driving confidence. Full stiff front and full soft rear will be "pushy" or more understeerish than it is now (although you would be cornering with less roll).