Notices
S197 Handling Section For everything suspension related, inlcuding brakes, tires, and wheels.

Front end popping, pinpointing it right now, looking for advice

Search this Thread

Old 09-01-2013, 04:24 PM
gmoran1469
3rd Gear Member

Default Front end popping, pinpointing it right now, looking for advice

So I've been having front end popping issues when cornering, decided it's time to fix it now before it gets worse.

I've got my front end up on jack stands right now. The front tires are off the ground. When I turn the wheel lock to lock I can hear the popping, it's just not nearly as loud as when the tires are on the ground and the car is in motion.

List of mods is in my signature. I'm no mechanic but I'm no dummy either. I installed all these mods myself, no problems till a month or two ago, been installed 2-3 years. Looking for advice on how to further pinpoint my problem, i.e. take the strut assembly out and turn stuff, etc.
Old 09-01-2013, 05:58 PM
gmoran1469
3rd Gear Member

After turning the wheel lock to lock by hand some more and keeping one hand on various parts trying to feel for the pop, I think I've narrowed it down to my right front end-link (if that is what you call the ~1ft vertical rod with the end links on it. It is the only thing I can really feel the pop through. Not the steeda upper strut mounts or the steering knuckle (not sure what to call this, steering rod?)

What's my recommended upgrade? Steeda street/comp, scott drake, strano comp?

Last edited by gmoran1469; 09-01-2013 at 08:02 PM.
Old 09-02-2013, 09:49 AM
gmoran1469
3rd Gear Member

Went ahead and placed an order for the Strano Comp w/ the QA1 rod ends. They looked to be the beefiest of the ones I looked at. That and I ordered a UPR catch can to replace the breathers I had installed, getting tired of wiping up the oil on the passenger side of the engine every week. Gonna install the catch can and detail the engine bay.
Old 09-10-2013, 12:55 PM
gmoran1469
3rd Gear Member