Notices
S197 Handling Section For everything suspension related, inlcuding brakes, tires, and wheels.

Complete suspension upgrade - What should I look for?

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2015, 05:08 PM
ryanjm

Default Complete suspension upgrade - What should I look for?

Hi guys- Complete noob here, and I have no interest in doing any of the work myself, but I'm wondering what I can do to upgrade my car's suspension? I have a stock v6 2014 Mustang and live in Colorado. I basically want to get some quotes from local shops for a few upgrades.

Here is what I'm noticing and what I'm trying to achieve:

1) The car leans hard around corners. I would like it to be flatter.
2) Car does not handle rough pavement and/or potholes well. I would like it to be smoother.

Can those two objectives be met? I know a stiffer suspension generally rides rougher, but is it possible for something that's pretty stiff but also smooth?

Also, I know this isn't the right subforum, and I'm not nearly as concerned with it, but any really minor/easy add-ons to increase 0-60 time?
Old 06-25-2015, 12:06 PM
Norm Peterson
6th Gear Member

Would this be flat enough for you?

Also, I know this isn't the right subforum, and I'm not nearly as concerned with it, but any really minor/easy add-ons to increase 0-60 time?
Increase it? Stupid easy, don't step on the gas as hard.

Seriously, grippier tires, relo brackets, more aggressive tune. Aftermarket LCAs and maybe UCA if you're being limited by wheel hop. For starters anyway.

Norm
Old 06-26-2015, 03:01 AM
Allupinya
2nd Gear Member

Also depends on your experience. Tires can easily out handle your suspension quickly. It all depends on your driving habits, experience and goals.
Old 06-26-2015, 06:40 AM
Norm Peterson
6th Gear Member

As far as my mention of tires was concerned, that was strictly for the 0 - 60 part of OP's post. Sorry if I misled anyone.