Street/Strip Raced a guy from a light? Had that ride of yours on the timed track? Tell your story here.

First time ever drag racing

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2012, 02:57 AM
Minion
2nd Gear Member

Default First time ever drag racing

Last Friday night I decided to take my 2011 GT manual up to the race track. I tried bracket racing for the first time ever. I don't think I did too bad at all. I ended up coming in 2nd place for the night. I lost my last race by jumping .008 too soon, I was pretty bummed out, but I think the other guy would of had me anyway. Below are my best times. I really think I have some room for improvement. (and if anybody can suggest my best first mod let me know) I'm thinking about a tuner and CAI combo.

Note I got these times with a few things against me:
It was on a hot night..about 88* if not more on the track
I'm in a convertible (more weight)
I'm a 295lb driver (even more weight)
First time ever racing at a track
Street tires
100% stock

My Best combined times:
60 foot: 2.20
330 feet: 5.73
1/8: 8.75
MPH: 83.91

All in all it was pretty awesome and I can't wait to go back.

I did had a lot of trouble adding too much power and spinning the tires WAY too much off the line. I need to work on that. That brings up another question. Traction control on or off when drag racing? I had it on all night.

Old 07-17-2012, 07:34 AM
97tplsGT
4th Gear Member

Not too bad! Pretty cool getting a trophy the first time ever at a track, lmao!

1) are you m6 or a6? a6-dont stall it up at the line, 'flash' the converter, meaning just stab the gas on the 3rd yellow. May have to pedal it, but it seems a lot of cars do better by not powerbraking off the line. Ive never raced an auto, so take this advice loosely. Im sure Mishiri will chime in on this.