SVT Forums

Engine Problem..Severe Knock/Click (99dohc)

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2009, 05:20 PM
Furthur

Default Engine Problem..Severe Knock/Click (99dohc)

Long story short..I ran out of oil. Yeah..7 quarts disappeared and I didn't notice a leak or light.

So every rotation there is a loud 'CLICK' a few folks have theorized that a valve stuck and the piston head wrecked it or that it is the bearing on the crank since lack of lube would lead to trouble with all of them.

I'm a student and on a pretty tight budget so getting it diagnosed isn't feasible for a month or two. I would love to know if anyone had a similar issue or can help me pinpoint the problem. I saw fluctuations in oil pressure the week before it happened but figured since the car was a bit older it was a sensor thing instead of a 'lack of oil' problem.

Thanks ahead of time for any help
Old 07-12-2009, 05:39 PM
mfj
Banned

Wow, you don't deserve that car...
Congrats! You need a new engine. Get ready to shell out over $5000 in parts and labor!

How CONVENIENT of you to ASSUME that it was a sensor thingy, LMFAO!
Old 07-12-2009, 08:23 PM
Mustang3GT07
6th Gear Member

Originally Posted by mfj
Wow, you don't deserve that car...
Congrats! You need a new engine. Get ready to shell out over $5000 in parts and labor!

How CONVENIENT of you to ASSUME that it was a sensor thingy, LMFAO!
LMFAO....MFJ got right to the point. It's good to have the old MFJ back lol
Old 07-13-2009, 02:27 AM
mfj
Banned

^Hahahaha!
Old 07-13-2009, 09:07 AM
OzzDOA
3rd Gear Member

Yup, you're screwed. Most likely you tore up the bearings and journals.
Old 07-13-2009, 11:25 AM
Furthur

appreciate the non-satirical comments. 140k miles later..this happens. Thanks for being an *** when all that was needed is advice! figured the mustang trash i try so hard not to be identified with stalks forums as well as red light clutch melting opportunities.