SVT Forums

Post Cat o2 Sensor resistor? Help please.

Search this Thread

Old 09-01-2009, 12:21 AM
96svtC0BRA

Exclamation Post Cat o2 Sensor resistor? Help please.

Well since i just got this car back after a 7 1/2 week issue with cottman transmission over fixing my T-45. I finally get the car back, and the check engine light came on. I took the car to Auto Zone just to get it scanned and it showed a Post cat o2 sensor code. No Big deal, bought another o2 and went to my shop to put it in. I get the car in the air and realize this car has 0 cat converters, with this "jimmy rigged" wiring setup for the post cat sensor to run into a resistor to stop it from throwing a check engine light i assume?

Regardless, i'd imagine this is NOT a correct way to try and beat the system and not run converters. as to it not getting the reading the computer is looking for i feel it would effect the performance of this vehicle. Im not a mechanic but i feel i know enough to know this is NOT right. We had the car runnin for like 30 seconds and in that time my pops who is more mechanically inclined than me said the car was running lean.

Is there any way i can hook this car up to a computer and delete its need to read for a post cat o2 sensor in general? i understand this car will NOT pass a visual inspection, but just to fix the problem/ get her runnin' right.... Do these handheld tuners take care of any of this? while making the car run better?

Any answers appreciated, thank you.
Old 09-01-2009, 09:39 AM
BraMas
5th Gear Member

I assume when you say post you are referring to the second set of O2's or if there was a Cat on the car the ones after the cat. The 2nd set of O2 do not affect how the car is running in any way all they do is read the exhaust after the Cat to make sure it is doing it's job if it isn't it throws a code. Yes the hand held tuners can turn the rear O2's off. The first set of O2's is what tell the engine how to run
Old 09-01-2009, 10:44 AM
96svtC0BRA