SVT Forums

Valvetrain noise

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-2012, 10:23 AM
Rokgtar
2nd Gear Member

Default Valvetrain noise

My 97 Cobra 4v has a head tick... well, more like clatter in the valve train. A stethoscope proved it. Its on both sides of the motor, not just one side, but the passenger side is worse. I was thinking of the reasons why this might be happening - bad lash adjusters, worn valve guides, etc... Has anyone here replaced all lash adjusters to resolve this issue? What was the outcome? Did it clear up most (if not all) of the noise? Ive seen pics and descriptions of how to replace them - the part I dread the most is pulling everything apart to get to them...

Or, is valvetrain clatter just a part of life for a 100k+ motor?

Also - could a bad lash adjuster prevent a valve from closing all of the way, or from staying closed? I have a miss at idle that I'm just beginning to troubleshoot.

FYI - the motor has a brand new full set of timing chains, guides and tensioners...

My last motor had a spun rod bearing and this is definitely a different sound - from the top end. This motor spins through the rpm range smoothly.

Thanks to anyone who has a response...

Last edited by Rokgtar; 03-25-2012 at 10:26 AM.
Old 03-26-2012, 06:04 AM
Rokgtar
2nd Gear Member

What, no answers? You rotten, good for nothing bunch of so's and so's... My car is the BEST! I run 165 down my neighborhood street around everyone - around kids, old ladies with walkers, everyone!

I'm getting ready to go to Busch Gardens too - for 3 weeks!

Top that, yall! J/K

Just need a little advice here... I'm seriously thinking of selling the car and buying something newer - i.e. slower - b/c these 4v engines as a whole cost too much for my blood. If I have a serious problem with the top end of my motor that I cannot fix with lash adjusters or some other removable part (without pulling the heads) I'm likely to send it on its way. Any help will be greatly appreciated...
Old 03-27-2012, 02:39 AM