Notices
S550 2015-2023 Mustang Discussions on the S550 2015 - 2022 Ford Mustang.

5.0 vs. EcoBoost

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2016, 03:51 PM
BarneyPenny

Default 5.0 vs. EcoBoost

Hey everyone, I'm a college student and getting rid of my FoxBody running project in favor of a newer (2015) 5.0 or EcoBoost. Provided I don't get the premium package, I have found 2015's with low mileage for about 30k and 23k out the door. I could afford either, but the better gas mileage of the EcoBoost is attractive to me. What kind of 0-60 and freeway acceleration differences could I expect to notice from the two? Would it be feasible to get an EcoBoost RELIABLY to GT speeds 0-60? How much worse is Eco suspension? How much better is Ecoboost handling?

Thanks!!!
Old 06-21-2016, 04:34 PM
buckethead2

The 2.3T is a great motor in a great car.
But get the 5.0. The GT is the shiznit!
Old 06-21-2016, 04:41 PM
krssrls

what he said...^^^^^^^^^^
Old 06-21-2016, 05:51 PM
Mach2
2nd Gear Member

Yeah, what he said too...............

My 16 GT Premium is the most fun I've had with my clothes on.
Old 06-21-2016, 08:33 PM
BarneyPenny

Originally Posted by Mach2
Yeah, what he said too...............

My 16 GT Premium is the most fun I've had with my clothes on.
I test drove a GT today and it was quick. Unfortunately the dealer didn't have a stick so I was only able to drive an auto. It felt powerful but there was terrible lag if I floored it, while it downshifted and revved up. I'm talking like a full 3 seconds. Is the manual that bad?
Old 06-21-2016, 10:54 PM
Intrepid175
1st Gear Member

Originally Posted by BarneyPenny