Tuner Central Have a question about which hand tuner is best for your Mustang? Talk about it here!

Added CAI & timing and lost performance

Old 12-01-2011, 02:56 AM
speedycpu
1st Gear Member

Default Added CAI & timing and lost performance

I'll start off by saying I've been running the Bamatunes SCT SF3 with the stock air box & K&N filter, 4.10's and some Flowmasters on the 93 octane Performance tune. I am a radar technician and ran a quick before/after test which I found to be surprising.

Testing was done on the same day, same temperature, same road surface and WOT starting point.

I first tested my 30-50 and 30-70 mph time in 3rd gear with the stock air box, k&n box filter, 30.5 degrees total timing (default for that tune) during WOT and got 3.08 seconds 30-50 mph and 5.97 seconds 30-70 mph.

I then installed the Steeda CAI with high flow elbow and had Bamatunes send another tune modified for the Steeda CAI. I then added +2 global spark and retested. My 30-50 mph went to 3.20 seconds and 30-70 mph went to 6.26 seconds. I checked the datalogs during the runs, it showed no timing was pulled (32.5 all the way during WOT), MAF wasn't pegged and fuel rail pressure looked good.

Any idea what is going on?
Old 12-01-2011, 08:38 AM
Mike@DiabloSport
Former Sponsor

Why would you add 2* of spark on top of a tune developed by professional tuners?

Just because it didn't knock, doesn't mean that it liked the extra timing

Keep in mind, the reason their tunes are popular, is because they have done the homework and tested to see what works, there is no way you are going to blindly make some changes and improve upon what they have done.
Old 12-01-2011, 11:14 AM
SteedaGus
Former Sponsor

I second this, take that timing back out and do the test again.
Old 12-01-2011, 11:51 AM
speedycpu
1st Gear Member

Originally Posted by Mike@DiabloSport
Why would you add 2* of spark on top of a tune developed by professional tuners?