Tuner Central Have a question about which hand tuner is best for your Mustang? Talk about it here!

Tuner chip

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2012, 08:41 AM
Vanzer

Default Tuner chip

Hey guys, new to the site and have a question about a tuner chip.

Quick background: Used to have a 98 Mustang over 10 years ago. had to sell all of my toys back then for "new" family reasons... So its been awhile since I have had anything that I have enjoyed. Carting around the family in suv's for the last 8 years. I finally decided it was time to get myself something that I wanted. So I did. I bought a 2005 Mustang GT.

I am the third owner of this car. The original owner had aftermarket work done to it. The person I bought it from said they did nothing to it other than drive it for a year. Cold air intake, exhaust, springs, body kit and a chip.

So my question is about the chip. Since I am completely new to this and may add some things down the road, I need to know what I have here exactly. I was told the car is "chipped, tuned to 93 octane".

First, what does that mean exactly?
Second, where would this chip be located? Again I am very new to this so I looked in the obvious places, the 3 wire harnesses at the computer all look the same. Nothing attached to the areas around the intake. The person that I purchased the car from said it was probably in the computer. I want to make sure it is still there and not removed. And again, if I plan on doing anything myself, ill need to know what I have.

Hope I posted this in the right place
Thanks for the help
Old 09-11-2012, 10:21 AM
TRexGAWD
4th Gear Member

Umm, well if it was given a 93 tune I would really hope that you were provided a tuner along with the car!.. If not you might end up having to get it reflashed to a stock tune just so you can modify it later down the road.
Old 09-12-2012, 07:46 AM
Vanzer