V6 (1994-2004) Mustangs Technical discussions on the 3.8L and 3.9L V6 torque monsters

Newbie wants to take it to the next level

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2007, 11:56 PM
jrhykushi
4th Gear Member

Default Newbie wants to take it to the next level

okay, so i am about to inherit my brother's car. it is a stock'06 V6 mustang. Like I said, its a stock autov6. *****, very ***** indeed. I want it to be faster, and a little bit louder (like a GT or a little more). I was thinking about installing a supercharger, but i've been told its not that easy, and yahtee yahtee yah. so i was hoping if someone on this forum will help get that jump start i need. i am a complete newb, but i am willing to learn. i am only looking for around 100-175 hp gain but not more

please help, all advice is greatly appreciated.
Old 07-27-2007, 12:23 AM
Willem_Black
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: Newbie wants to take it to the next level

The best thing to do would be to read all the posts you can. You will tell pretty quickly who knows their stuff around here and be able to sort through the b.s. But there is a ton of usefull knowledge on these forums, and some really smart people. And you're right, the only way you're gonna see gains like that are through forced induction. You might wanna live on the Pipes, boost, juice forums for a while, gathering all the knowledge you can. And when you are unclear about something then ask a question.
Old 07-27-2007, 12:54 AM
xX98StallionXx
5th Gear Member

first your gonna need money, none of that stuff is cheap, and unless you know what your doing an S/C install can get messy... in a way forcing you to bring it to a shop which will make you pay a huge amount for "labor"

If your gonna go S/C then if it were me id work on my bottom end, if you just work the top end then youll eventually wear out the bottom and bad things will happen... Basically get the mods that will strengthen your engine enough for more compression.
Old 07-27-2007, 10:49 AM
jrhykushi