V6 (1994-2004) Mustangs Technical discussions on the 3.8L and 3.9L V6 torque monsters

I Need Dual Exhaust Advice

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2009, 01:29 PM
Polkaudio
1st Gear Member

Default I Need Dual Exhaust Advice

I'm still pretty new to the whole Mustang modding and I need advice bad!!! I've seen tons of threads about dual exhaust, but all these different setups seem confusing. I don't want to do "fake" dual exhaust, but I have no idea how to go about doing "true" dual exhaust and/or what I need and which brands are best. Also do I go for performance improvement or sound. Can somebody please clarify and/or suggest a "mean" true dual setup? Thanks.
Old 07-03-2009, 02:15 PM
moontang
4th Gear Member

well if you want the cheapest quickest way i would say just go to a exhaust shop and have them cut your stock y off and weld a H pipe and mufflers of your choice on then either run dumps or tail pipes its up to you

or if you want the full thing get mac long tubes mac o/r H (which you can have high flow cats welded in if you want) and a catback of your choice most people will say stick with a chambered muffler like a flowmaster or thrush and avoid a glass pack style muffler like a cherry bomb or magnapak

stay away from shorty headers you will see no gain from them

any other questions?
Old 07-03-2009, 02:35 PM
a_penquin
4th Gear Member

Originally Posted by moontang
well if you want the cheapest quickest way i would say just go to a exhaust shop and have them cut your stock y off and weld a H pipe and mufflers of your choice on then either run dumps or tail pipes its up to you

or if you want the full thing get mac long tubes mac o/r H (which you can have high flow cats welded in if you want) and a catback of your choice most people will say stick with a chambered muffler like a flowmaster or thrush and avoid a glass pack style muffler like a cherry bomb or magnapak

any other questions?
I have no issues with my cherry bombs......
Old 07-03-2009, 02:37 PM