V6 (1994-2004) Mustangs Technical discussions on the 3.8L and 3.9L V6 torque monsters

Help with tires/wheels please!

Old 02-16-2012, 10:37 PM
Its Mr Yum Yum

Default Help with tires/wheels please!

I have a 99 35th Anniversary mustang. I've had the car for a couple of months, and the original Rims on it are starting to become boring. I know i'll probably get alot of hate for this but I'm a college student on a budget. so I went the cheap way out and bought some black and Ice hubcaps.

I checked online, and I bought the compatible size with my tires.

I went to put them in, but they don't even go around the rim of the tire to pop them in. Which brings me to my question. Can you even pop on hubcaps into Original 99 Mustang rims? or do I need to change the entire rim? or is the Hubcap just not a size large enough?

Thanks!
Old 02-16-2012, 10:56 PM
Fink
5th Gear Member

Welcome to the Forum!

You need to change the entire rim. save up some money and get a set of 17" GT "Starfish" wheels. shouldnt be more than $500 w/ tires.

Im guessing you have the 15" split tri spoke wheels now?
Old 02-17-2012, 06:01 AM
Its Mr Yum Yum

Thank you! I appreciate it. An sadly I figured that would be the case. Is there any place that sells some cheap rims though? Like just plain rims so that I would be able to pop the hubcap into that one?
Old 02-17-2012, 07:25 AM
micahk2

Your best bet would just be to spend a little more money than you want to do. I am a college student as well, so I know how it is. You could always finance to get them, if you can afford about $100 or so a month. Just find out your tire size (they are probably 18s if you are rolling stocks/replacements) and look online. You can get some decent rims for about $400-500.

http://www.americanmuscle.com/99-04-...eels-rims.html

If I were you, I'd go with the billit. A lot of people get them (though I personally don't like them). They are fairly cheap and they look a lot better than the stocks.
Old 02-17-2012, 11:14 PM