V6 (1994-2004) Mustangs Technical discussions on the 3.8L and 3.9L V6 torque monsters

Help on making my 3.8 auto faster?

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2012, 09:22 PM
purepk507

Default Help on making my 3.8 auto faster?

If anyone could give me some ideas on how to make my car alot quicker, money is not a problem and i already know things such as turbo or supercharger. but could you name anything else that will add extra hp, that will be greatly appreciated! Name a list of things i plan on making my car really quick
Old 03-10-2012, 10:43 PM
ramair351
1st Gear Member

3.73 or 4.10 gears, and an sct tuner for starters, then a good exhaust. then you can do a turbo or supercharger
Old 03-10-2012, 11:56 PM
NeoTokyo
6th Gear Member

Stickerz

Oh.... And the search button, btw welcome to the forums.

Last edited by NeoTokyo; 03-10-2012 at 11:59 PM.
Old 03-11-2012, 12:36 AM
purepk507

Thank you for the replies and what do you mean by stickers? and the search? what do i search sorry im a newb on forums. :P
Old 03-11-2012, 12:43 AM
purepk507

I already bought the car and the guy told me it has 4:10 gears, full exhaust system from the headers to the cat's to the tips. also has a cold air intake. another quick question i live in new york and im about to drive to ohio its roughly 9 hours. I read driving with 4:10 gear's is bad and you will lose alot of mpg?
Old 03-11-2012, 05:27 AM
NeoTokyo
6th Gear Member

Using the search function will help you alot, you can get questions answered a lot quicker that way.

Stickerz' is just a joke, a stab at ricers.

4.10's arent that bad, just drive easy and you wont really notice enough to **** you off about its fuel economy. The gears will actually help your in town driving.

It sounds like its a pretty good setup so far but I really hope he gave you the tuner with the car or it has a chip otherwise one dead battery could cause a whole host of problems for you.