V6 (1994-2004) Mustangs Technical discussions on the 3.8L and 3.9L V6 torque monsters

Yet another exhaust question...

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2012, 09:07 AM
MCR
2nd Gear Member

Default Yet another exhaust question...

I'm a newbie to cars, so I'm not 100% sure on what I'm even talking about. Just try and understand me.

Okay, so I have a V6 2001 Ford Mustang 3.8L
Not the best, and yes I've heard from millions of people already that the GT is better, bla bla bla. Well, the car's already a little modified. It has a GT hood, along with a GT bumper, tinted windows, black rims, along with red rally stripes, angel lights, and leather interior.

I don't want to spend money on a GT right now. Anyway, what would be the best exhaust for this car? I went over to a muffler type store, and they told me they "make" duel exhausts, but they don't sell the kits. What do I need? A kit right?

I was looking at duel exhausts, or a cat back exhaust. I want obviously two exhausts on each side. How much would it cost me in total, along with a mechanic putting it together for me?

Don't be hard on the noob
Old 12-19-2012, 03:02 PM
Ironhandx
1st Gear Member

I paid $1800 total... my car is set up to bolt up GT or Cobra Cat-Back exhaust systems now. That included Flowmaster Force IIs which were $700 though.

If you're getting a shop to do it and they're not giving you a break on labour the cheapest way is probably headers from a 3.8L 94-95(add about $250 if you don't go this route), an H-Pipe kit, or make sure they fabricate to at least 2 1/4". Stock cats are OK if you don't want the thing to be loud. If you do, replace with hi-flow cats, but check your emissions laws first as this could fail your e-test. Then bolt up a GT take-off. You could probably get this done for <$1000 vs what I paid.

I assume you want the performance increase along with the look/sound of the duals, so get a cold air intake to go with it. ~$100-150.

Edit: