V6 (1994-2004) Mustangs Technical discussions on the 3.8L and 3.9L V6 torque monsters

help?

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2013, 09:41 PM
Freddie Romano

Default help?

To start off I'm new to this so I would much appreciate any advice. I just purchased a 2002 V6 mustang and it has about 60,000 miles on it. What can I purchase or do that can make the car run great, run better and ultimately make the engine even more durable and reliable?
Old 07-01-2013, 10:26 PM
Mobiusone stang
2nd Gear Member

First thing most people will say is to get a cold air intake. It brings in more air, makes the engine run more efficiently so therefor its a little better on gas. If u don't wana install do what I did and buy a k&n air filter. It's $60 but u have it for the life of the car so it pays for itself. Also look at doing a dual exhaust bc the single muffler is a bit restrictive.
Old 07-02-2013, 02:46 PM
darcane

Originally Posted by Freddie Romano
To start off I'm new to this so I would much appreciate any advice. I just purchased a 2002 V6 mustang and it has about 60,000 miles on it. What can I purchase or do that can make the car run great, run better and ultimately make the engine even more durable and reliable?
Durable and reliable? Just keep it maintained.

Look in your owner's manual or here's a general guide from Ford: http://www.motorcraftservice.com/pub.../02nmgmg3e.pdf

Regular oil changes, replace the air filter if it's dirty (I prefer OEM paper-type filters over K&N). You may be due to flush the coolant and/or tranny fluid if it hasn't been done yet.

Keep up on maintenance and you should get a couple hundred thousand more miles. It's a robust engine, even if it isn't terribly exciting.
Old 07-02-2013, 10:25 PM
jthorn9
The Godfather

Replace the spark plugs
Replace the spark plug wires
Replace the coil pack
Replace/clean the air filter
Replace the in line fuel filter
Replace the radiator fluid (if brown)
Replace the transmission fluid
Replace the rear end fluid