V6 (1994-2004) Mustangs Technical discussions on the 3.8L and 3.9L V6 torque monsters

What more to ask mechanic who says Cylinder #3 is dead, needs new engine?

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2014, 12:46 PM
leek

Default What more to ask mechanic who says Cylinder #3 is dead, needs new engine?

Hi all, my apologies if this shows up twice, as somehow my first attempt didn't seem to make it onto the board.

Thanks in advance for any advice or input! All input is welcomed, as I always learn a lot from what others more informed have to say. I am not an expert.

I have a 1995 Mustang V6, and I'm the original owner. The car has 56,000 miles on it (I take mass transit to work). No major issues with it until earlier this year.

What other questions should I ask of the Ford mechanic who says:
"Cylinder #3 is dead"
"To fix, we would replace the engine with a new engine, estimate $5000 labor and parts."

Is that the typical result for the dead cylinder -- replacing the whole engine?

In your experience, if the engine is replaced, and I gave the car regular good maintenance, how many more years would it extend the useful life of the car?

Background:
Last April, the thermostat gauge was going up regularly to the L in "NORMAL", and I found that coolant was being lost as I kept putting more in. No visible signs of coolant on the driveway or anything. My local repair shop couldn't find anything to explain the loss, so recommended taking it to a shop that would look deeper into whether it was the head gasket. I took it to the Ford dealership and they diagnosed it as a leak where the lines from the water pump went into the timing chain cover. (Which I also saw described in postings in this forum).

So I had that fixed. But then starting in July, the engine would sort of hesitate when driving on the highway and going up hill. Took it in again, and the mechanic thought maybe an air bubble in the system, and did something that seemed to clear it.