V6 (1994-2004) Mustangs Technical discussions on the 3.8L and 3.9L V6 torque monsters

Car starts without alarm unlock, but runs better and check engine light went out!

Old 12-23-2014, 12:48 PM
Tryingtofixit

Default Car starts without alarm unlock, but runs better and check engine light went out!

Hello!

I'm a newbie to this forum. Thanks for being out there to help. This is a bit of a story, so please hang with me.

Bought a 2000 V6, 154K, about a year ago. The check engine light came on shortly after I bought it (or course!) Showed a misfire on number 1. I've changed plugs, put in new wires, new coil pack, carbon clean out, replaced the little hose on top of the fuel tank cuz my mech says the OBD showed an issue with it. All these were done cuz the code kept popping up.

NOW...here's the kicker...after the hose was replaced, it ran for about 15 miles and the check engine light came on again and I felt a real miss. Brought it in and the mech now says it needs a valve job. Some diagnostic tool shows a burned valve. $1500.

NOW! Here's the real KICKER...yesterday, after being parked for an hour, it didn't need the alarm to be disarmed to start. Just turned the key and it started! AND, the check engine light was no longer lit and the engine ran like a dream! No miss, no stutter!*************

SO, I'm think that the whole issue has been in some electrical interaction between the alarm system and the ignition system. Does that make sense?

Any thoughts, hints, experience with this? I'm liking driving the car (convertible in Southern Utah) but this is driving me nuts and I don't want to do a valve job, especially if the issue is electrical.

Help, please! Thanks.
Old 12-23-2014, 04:20 PM
PNYXPRESS
5th Gear Member

What were the codes being shown? Also I would be curious to know what sort of "tool" can show it needs a valve job with out pulling the heads off.
Old 12-24-2014, 02:11 PM
Tryingtofixit