V6 (1994-2004) Mustangs Technical discussions on the 3.8L and 3.9L V6 torque monsters

Help with dual exhaust conversion

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2015, 07:04 PM
comets77

Default Help with dual exhaust conversion

Hello everyone,
I have never posted anything here before so I apologize if I make any mistakes. I have recently been thinking about converting my 3.8L v6 to a dual exhaust system. I have been doing some research but could use some advice from someone with experience. I am currently thinking about buying the Pacesetter Conversion Kit (http://www.americanmuscle.com/pacese...it-9904v6.html) and picking up a cat-back from a GT (https://portland.craigslist.org/clc/pts/5275476881.html). I plan on finding a local shop to install everything since I have limited tools and experience. Will this give my car much of a performance boost without getting new headers as well? Is this plan reasonable? Would I be better off spending the money to get a new cat-back system such as the Flowmaster American Thunder instead of something used? Also, would I be better off having the shop that installs it make something similar to the Conversion Kit? I have seen mention that that is a cheaper option, but I don't want to skimp out on a few bucks and have it come apart in a couple years. Any help is greatly appreciated!
Old 10-27-2015, 07:30 AM
PNYXPRESS
5th Gear Member

The GT catback portion wont do much perf wise but the h-pipe will help gain a little due to removing the bottle neck of the y-pipe.
Old 10-27-2015, 07:51 PM
comets77

Originally Posted by PNYXPRESS
The GT catback portion wont do much perf wise but the h-pipe will help gain a little due to removing the bottle neck of the y-pipe.
Would a new aftermarket exhaust give more of a performance gain? Would the GT exhaust at least make my car sound better?
Old 10-27-2015, 09:13 PM
SteelerNation82
1st Gear Member