V6 (1994-2004) Mustangs Technical discussions on the 3.8L and 3.9L V6 torque monsters

94 2door

Old 03-06-2016, 10:15 PM
fsjrzdvl

Default 94 2door

So picked up a 94 2door for my son today. This is my first Mustang so I don't know much about them. Its a 3.8 has what's supposed to be a rebuilt motor in it (has a rebuilt title) I drove car home today 25 miles and it did fine. So off top of my head I know it'll need a few things (I'm no mechanic but I know my way around cars). First and most important the pulley for the harmonic balancer is bent so it shakes the whole engine, going to replace that first.

In no particular order I am going to rebuild the front end, new ball joints, tie rod ends, sway bar links, and unit bearings. Going to replace the rear sway bar links as well. Really as far as suspension and steering that's all I'm messing with.

I'm going to treat her to a full tune up, plugs, plug wires, air filter, fuel filter, belt, well you get it tune up stuff

I'm going to drain the tranny and swap the filter and flush the coolant system

everything else I have planned is maintenance this particular car needs. So a couple questions

does this motor have any quirks I should look for now? Same for the automatic tranny?

Will it be worth my time and $ to invest in a lower end Cold air intake and maybe higher end plugs, wires, distributer and such? Also thinking about a cat back exhaust. Not trying to make a 10 second car, just something reliable with enough get up and go to make it fun.

Right now this car is VERY sluggish in initital acceleration but will drive 60-70 (as fast as I got it) just fine and I'm hoping the above mentioned work will give it the pick up it should have.

Anyway enough for one thread, I gotta save stuff for other threads...........here she is
Attached Thumbnails 94 2door-1.jpg   94 2door-3.jpg   94 2door-2.jpg  
Old 03-07-2016, 05:50 AM
dawson1112
5th Gear Member