V6 General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to V6 Mustangs.

Sexy 2000 V6 w/5 speed I have some questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2014, 06:13 PM
brshelton

Default Sexy 2000 V6 w/5 speed I have some questions

I just bought a SEXY 2000 Mustang V6 standard. With 174k miles.

It has headers, cat delete true dual to flowmaster 40's, throttle body spacer, cold air intake, stage 2 clutch, cam (not sure the specs), 3.73 gears, limited slip, 10mm plug wires....I got a deal that seems to good to be true.....i only paid $3600 for it. I have driven it 400 miles so far and nothing seems to be wrong but i was hoping that maybe yall could point me in the direction of some things to check as I am new to the Mustang.

Thanks!
Old 01-27-2014, 01:20 AM
JeffBall
1st Gear Member

Nice car! Welcome to the mustang world. Glad to have you here. Only thing I can really say, 3600 seems to be a little much, The KBB on these in very good condition is 3400. Me personally, Id replace all the fluids, Diff/tranny/motor/and coolant mainly. Maybe even shoot off an oil sample to blackstone labs. With these mods, the car was probably abused a little. However, these motors are pretty strong. I just sold my 2001 v6, with 243k (bought it with 180k) miles on her. Im 20 years old, had the car for 3 years...and not a day went by that she didnt hit the redline.... All in all, congratulations on the purchase, welcome to mustang forums...We have a great community here, all you need to do is ask (remember, search can be your best friend)
Old 01-27-2014, 10:44 AM
brshelton

Changing ALL the fluids was the first thing i did when i got her home. So i guess im on the right track! The coolant actually looked like it had been changed recently and the oil wasn't bad. But the tranny wasn't really a happy color it was more of a dark red/brown.....but she shifts fine so i guess its alright. But i do wonder.....does the interior rattle in all new edge mustang???