Search



Go Back   MustangForums.com > Ford Mustang Tech > 2005 - 2014 Mustangs > V6 S197 General Discussion
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

V6 S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V6 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Welcome to Mustang Forums!
Welcome to Mustang Forums.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-18-2009, 05:37 PM   #1
Big Blue Md
 
Big Blue Md's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 46
Default Water Temp Gauge Install

I need some help, before I go punching holes in water jackets, can any one tell me if the thing that looks like it could be a 2nd spot for the sending unit for the gauge that is next to the stock temp sender is actually that, or do I have to do something else to install my aftermarket water temp gauge.
Has anyone installed an aftermarket temp gauge on a 4.0 here.
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Mustang Forums!
__________________
Big Blue Md is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2009, 05:42 PM   #2
illin
3rd Gear Member
 
illin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Land of Lincoln
Posts: 707
Default

Wow...I thought all Mustangs had temp gauges. Was this a year thing or a Pony Package thing?

Weird that Ford would neglect to put a temp gauge in.
__________________
2008 Mustang Premium Pony...My '66 Fastback Replacement
S&B CAI w/ 93 Bama Race - FRPP Duals - 8.8" 3.73 - 18" GT/CS Polished
Best 1/4 = 14.49@94

illin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2009, 06:05 PM   #3
tx_zstang
5th Gear Member
 
tx_zstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Vehicle: 2006 Turbo V6; 2005 V6->V8 swap beast
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 2,333
Default

I think he's asking for how to put in an aftermarket sensor and guage. You still MUST have the stock sensor in place so the computer knows how hot the engine coolant is.

I don't know the answer, though, to the original question as I've not added a different sensor for collant temp.
__________________
Mike - 2005 Stroked/Forged/Cammed V8 (5.0L.); Kenne Bell 2.6 @ 18psi, + many mods. (formerly a V6 w/Vortech supercharger);
- 2006 4.0 V6 with PH Turbo and TR6060
tx_zstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2009, 08:44 PM   #4
157dB
Cut & Paste Expert
 
157dB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Vehicle: 2007 Pony Package
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 13,294
Default

Not sure.
There has to be some port you can stuff with the sender.
Electric or mechanical temp guage?
My MSD DashHawk shows ECT in degrees and uses the stock senders.
Whatever parameters the PCM can read, I can see on the DashHawk.
__________________
NON PUMKIN JACKER
http://www.mustangforums.com/forum/5...-this-car.html
Quote:
Originally Posted by chronos View Post
You and that darn manual! If you like it so much, maybe you should marry it!
157dB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2009, 09:39 PM   #5
Big Blue Md
 
Big Blue Md's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 46
Smile

Yes there is a gauge, but you cant do things like changing the operating temp of the engine by the stock gauge, and I bought a nice gauge to go in my gauge pod on the top of my dash, and you are correct, you have the leave the stock sensor hooked up for the computer, but I cant figure out where I can put the secondary one, oh yeah it's a mechanical gauge, I think they are more accurate.
So any way hopefully someone has done this and can help me, but thanks for the try.
__________________
Big Blue Md is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 01:11 AM   #6
tx_zstang
5th Gear Member
 
tx_zstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Vehicle: 2006 Turbo V6; 2005 V6->V8 swap beast
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 2,333
Default

One thing I thought of, depending what year model is, you may have two small coolant hoses going to/from the throttle body, from near the passenger side valve cover. You could tap into that line (it's hoses) and put a sensor inline.
Those lines are typically modified to bypass the throttle body (lookup 'heated throttle body bypass'), and could provide a clean and independent place to put your sensor or tap in for a mechanical gauge.
__________________
Mike - 2005 Stroked/Forged/Cammed V8 (5.0L.); Kenne Bell 2.6 @ 18psi, + many mods. (formerly a V6 w/Vortech supercharger);
- 2006 4.0 V6 with PH Turbo and TR6060
tx_zstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 06:31 AM   #7
illin
3rd Gear Member
 
illin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Land of Lincoln
Posts: 707
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tx_zstang View Post
One thing I thought of, depending what year model is, you may have two small coolant hoses going to/from the throttle body, from near the passenger side valve cover. You could tap into that line (it's hoses) and put a sensor inline.
Those lines are typically modified to bypass the throttle body (lookup 'heated throttle body bypass'), and could provide a clean and independent place to put your sensor or tap in for a mechanical gauge.
Wasnt that only on the 2005 TX?

I guess I am just confused as to what you are trying to accomplish. I am assuming you have a tuner no? Just gently adjust your fan operating temps and you can get that normal operating temp up a bit if you want. By default, seems as if most of the tuners turn the ECT way low and on max to prevent issues...but I had Doug raise mine a bit as I hate listening to the jet engine up front.

If you are looking for accurate readings for tuning purposes...use your tuner. I understand the gauge is an idiot gauge, but the numbers underneath or extremely accurate...not something you can duplicate with a mechanical device.
__________________
2008 Mustang Premium Pony...My '66 Fastback Replacement
S&B CAI w/ 93 Bama Race - FRPP Duals - 8.8" 3.73 - 18" GT/CS Polished
Best 1/4 = 14.49@94

illin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 11:15 AM   #8
Big Blue Md
 
Big Blue Md's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 46
Default

I have custom gauges that look cool, and I want to install them, the only one I have a problem with is the temp gauge, forget why I want them, I just do, but I need to know where to put the sender, as for adjusting the computer, I know how to do that.
Oh and I by past the throttle body heater a long time ago.
__________________
Big Blue Md is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 02:48 PM   #9
GrayPony
4th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location:
Posts: 1,214
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Blue Md View Post
I have custom gauges that look cool, and I want to install them, the only one I have a problem with is the temp gauge, forget why I want them, I just do, but I need to know where to put the sender, as for adjusting the computer, I know how to do that.
Oh and I by past the throttle body heater a long time ago.
Adapter in the lower rad hose...]

Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
GrayPony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 03:04 PM   #10
tx_zstang
5th Gear Member
 
tx_zstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Vehicle: 2006 Turbo V6; 2005 V6->V8 swap beast
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 2,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Blue Md View Post
...forget why I want them, I just do, but I need to know where to put the sender...
Oh and I by past the throttle body heater a long time ago.
Good answer, lol! Perhaps a little snippy, but spot-on . You know what you want to do and need some advice. And that's cool!

Essentially, putting the sensor in the system somewhere is what you need, wherever and however that makes the most sense and is most reliable.
This is not something a lot of V6'ers have done apparently.

Please let us know what you eventually do, as I might do it someday. Although currently I use a OBDII interface to read the temps from the computer and display it digitally but not all the time.
__________________
Mike - 2005 Stroked/Forged/Cammed V8 (5.0L.); Kenne Bell 2.6 @ 18psi, + many mods. (formerly a V6 w/Vortech supercharger);
- 2006 4.0 V6 with PH Turbo and TR6060
tx_zstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 03:04 PM
MustangForums
Ford Mustang




Paid Advertisement

 
 
 
Reply

Tags
05, 98, adapter, cobra, ford, gauge, guage, install, installing, mechanical, mustang, sender, temp, temperature, water

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WATER TEMP GAUGE Thurman 2005 - 2014 Mustangs 33 10-31-2008 12:24 AM

Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
New Sponsors
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 PM.

© Internet Brands, Inc.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

This forum is owned and operated by Internet Brands, Inc., a Delaware corporation. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Ford Motor Company and is not affiliated with the Ford Motor Company or its related companies in any way. Ford® is a registered trademark of the Ford Motor Company
Emails Backup