Notices
V6 S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V6 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.
Old 10-15-2015, 07:17 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: Ford Mustang Specifications & General Maintenance
Print Wikipost

Sirius activation on Shaker system

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2011, 07:44 PM
KenLenard

Default Sirius activation on Shaker system

Guys: I picked up a 2011 Mustang Convertible V6 premium over the weekend... used with 12k miles on it. I've been driving a minivan for 14 years so I'm pumped up. I had a 1984 Mustang convertible that was traded in long ago. Glad to be back.

This car came with the Shaker audio system and it appears to have Sirius and a small, black, plastic satellite radio antenna in the middle of the trunk. Sirius cannot activate this unit and I have tried multiple times. I have heard that the people at Sirius have had issues activating units and I have also heard that some cars come "satellite ready" but not "satellite". I think this thing is ready to go but it either has a hardware issue (wiring, antenna) or the unit needs to be reset or something. Has anyone had this issue? Does anyone know how to reset the radio or have any other advice on this? I couls take it to my local Ford dealer (I bought the car from a Toyota place) but I'd love to resolve it myself if possible. Thanks.
Old 12-05-2011, 07:53 PM
KenLenard

Quick followup: I contacted the dealer I bought the car from and the unique thing is that one of the execs at the dealer personally knows the previous owner of this car. I just emailed them to ask if they knew the Sirius was working properly when they traded in the car and the answer was YES. So is this just a Sirius tech support issue? If the radio is in good working order, it must need some sort of reset. Thanks for the help guys.
Old 12-06-2011, 03:04 PM