Notices
2.3L Eco-Boost Tech This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the Eco-Boost variation of the 2015+ Ford Mustang.

Looking for CARB certified mods

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2016, 08:21 PM
Derek Jenkins

Default Looking for CARB certified mods

I'm having trouble finding CARB certified mods, and I'm not sure exactly what mods need to be CARB certified.

Mods I'm looking for:
Intake
Exhaust
Blow off valve
Intercooler
Tune

The only one I'm positive needs a certification is the intake. I'm a newbie when it comes to mods so please forgive my ignorance haha. Any insight or information is helpful. Thanks.
Old 04-01-2016, 12:22 AM
09GT/CS
2nd Gear Member

If it's California you can pretty much throw the tune idea out. I have yet to come across an aftermarket canned time that will pass carb. I've heard of a few dyno places that can tune it and pass carb. Also anything that is obvious such as headers intake maybe blowoff valve not sure on that one will need a carb exemption sticker. It's almost impossible to do anything in Cali and pass smog and if it does be prepared to pay almost double for it those carb exemptions are super expensive to get. New York is not far behind either. My BBK headers have an exemption and that was the only part I found that was exempt and had a decent price tag. We are a lot more lax here in GA though. Check places like American Muscle or Brenspeed they have very knowledgable people that can get you started in the right direction. But my SCT tuner has a warning that straight up tells you not carb legal.
Old 04-01-2016, 11:51 AM
Derf00
Gentleman's Relish